home 17 July 08:29

Russian Union of Industialists and Entrepreneurs


Information note on possibilities and procedure of obtaining of APEC Business Travel Card

According to the Russian Government Decree #773 of October 2, 2009 “On Russian Federation`s Participation in the APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) Scheme” the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs (RSPP) is an organization authorized to issue recommendations for persons who plan to apply for the APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC). Please note that the recommendations are given only to the RSPP member companies` representatives.

ABTC permits to visit the following economies: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, China, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Viet Nam.

The US and Canada have not fully joined the scheme, but ABTC holders can bypass the normal customs and immigration lanes in these countries.

An ABTC holder doesn`t need to apply for a business visa to visit the countries participating in the scheme. The application for ABTC could be considered as an application for a visa.

Before application for ABTC an applicant should define five first-priority countries he intends to visit.

ABTC`s validity is five years from the issue date.

ABTC is issued by the Russian MFA Consulate Department.

The procedure of applying for the card

For receiving the card an applicant should:

  1. Fill in the form (each form should be submitted in a plastic file in A4 format);
  2. Attach a photo (60x40mm, colour, on glareless paper with light background, not less than 600 dpi) and a copy of passport page with personal details (passport` validity should be not less than 40 months);
  3. Prepare a letter to Mr. Sergey Krasilnikov, RSPP Vice President - Managing Director for International Relations and Integration, explaining the necessity of obtaining the ABTC;
  4. Submit the full package of documents to the RSPP International Relations Department (contact person: Ms. Anna Gubina, tel: +7 (495) 663-04-04 ext. 1232, e-mail: GubinaAV@rspp.ru). Please arrange your visit date and time beforehand by email or phone.

In case of application adoption, RSPP Administration Department passes the documents to the MFA Consulate Department.

After receiving the documents the MFA Consulate Department adds the information to the special APEC database. Please note that a waiting time for issuing a card is up to three months.

For having a permission to use the ABTC to enter Australia an additional form should be filled (doc., pdf).

The filled form should be sent to immigration.belgrade@dfat.gov.au after the ABTC process starts (documents are received by the Russian MFA).

If you don`t need the ABTC to have effect on the territory of Australia, you could send a denial in a free form in English to immigration.belgrade@dfat.gov.au.

A denial should be sent by an applicant itself.

An example (in English)

You could also inform your partners in the APEC economies that according to the Russian Presidential Decree #777 of 05.06.2012 “On the APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) Holders` Entry and Departure from the Russian Federation” they could receive cards in their countries and entry Russia on the ground of a card and an identity document.

Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Travel Card (ABTC) official web-page: www.apec.org.